Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Non Convex Mesh Collider

Hello guys,

Recently picked up game dev as a hobby so i started learning things bit by bit with all the tutorials and guide i could find on the internet, somehow ended up here looking to receive some advice from you guys.

My goal for the moment is that i want to make a 3rd person view with a detailed character collider (3D). So far I'm done with the camera using cinemachine and some basic movements scripts, then i wanted to add an actual graphics for my Player Character using the RPG assets from here.

My problem for now is this ...

As the error shown in the image, i can't use non convex mesh colliders (NCMC) with a non kinematic rigidbody.

To my understanding is that NCMC is more detailed, I need this particularly for my Player Characters and most likely for my Enemy characters but with the rigidbody set as kinematic i can't apply any physics related effect on it.

I had tried applying codes (solutions from the internet) that should have generated small colliders to encompass the shape but sadly didn't work. As i don't have a CS degree level of understanding complex algorithms, I'm kinda afraid I've had hit a wall already. 😞

If someone could point me to a right direction or shed some light on this matter it would be so helpful, thank you.

Answers

• Convex means that the mesh never curves back into itself. Detail is not a part of the definition, but performance is what the error is about.

A good way to think about it, is to imagine shining a light on the model. If it can cast a shadow on itself, like a crescent shape would, it is non-convex (concave may be a better term to use) . If the mesh can't cast any shadows, like a half circle, it is convex.